The Star Sydney To Host WSOP Circuit Event

The 2019 WSOP Circuit Sydney fstivl takes place at The Star Sydney from November 14th

The Star Sydney is preparing to host a massive WSOP Circuit festival with $6 million in guaranteed prize pools. Most poker players think of the Crown Melbourne when it comes to Australian casinos that host major poker events. Tides are turning, however, with The Star Sydney being the casino of choice of late.

Perhaps it is the recent controversy surrounding Crown that is putting off potential suitors. What is for certain is The Star properties are becoming a major player in the Australian poker circuit.

Only last month, The Star Gold Coast hosted the hugely successful World poker Tour festival. The Queensland property saw more than 3,000 entrants across all events with $3.1 million awarded. Hari Varma came out on top in the $2,200 WPT Australia Main Event and walked away with $274,247.

WSOP Circuit Sydney Has $6 Million Guaranteed

The World Series of Poker is poker’s biggest, most-trusted brand. Tens of thousands of poker players from around the world flock to Las Vegas each summer for the WSOP. It is that popular that WSOP created the WSOP Circuit and International Circuit. One such festival is heading to The Star Sydney.

Fourteen events are scheduled for WSOP Circuit Sydney and each one awards its champion a gold WSOP-C ring. All 14 events feature a guaranteed prize pool, which is a first for the WSOP Circuit Sydney.

Things get underway on November 14th with a $1,100 Monster Stack that has $450,000 guaranteed. Other events include a Turbo, Short Deck, 6-Max, Ladies event, and a Seniors tournament. The biggest events, the ones that capture the poker community’s imagination, are a sight to behold.

November 28th sees the $5,000 Challenge shuffle up and deal. This event costs $5,000 to enter, as the name suggests, and boasts of a $1 million guarantee. Matthew Wakeman won last year’s $5,000 Challenge for $256,496.

December 4th is the first day the $20,000 buy-in High Rollers event takes place. Again, this has a $1 million guaranteed prize pool. A similar event ran last year with 50 players taking to the felt, all outlasted by Luke Martinelli. He locked up a cool $356,250 for this impressive victory.

The $2,200 WSOP Circuit Sydney Main Event is sandwiched between these high rollers. A cool $2,200,000 is guaranteed to be awarded before it crowns its champion. Alex Lynskey is the reigning WSOP Circuit Sydney champion having triumphed in 2018. Lynskey topped a field of 1,191 players to bank $422,796 only a few months after finishing seventh in the WSOP Main Event in Las Vegas for $1,500,000.

WSOP Circuit Sydney Schedule

Date Time Event buy-in Guarantee
Thu 14 Nov 18:15 Event 1: Monster Stack Day 1A $1,100 $450,000
Fri 15 Nov 12:30 Event 1: Monster Stack Day 1B $1,100 $450,000
Sat 16 Nov 12:30 Event 1: Monster Stack Day 2 $450,000
Sun 17 Nov 17:15 Event 1: Monster Stack Final Day $450,000
Mon 18 Nov 18:15 Event 2: Turbo $500 $130,000
Tue 19 Nov 12:30 Event 3: Short Deck $600 $80,000
Tue 19 Nov 18:15 Event 4: NLH Classic Day 1A $500 $500,000
Wed 20 Nov 18:15 Event 4: NLH Classic Day 1B $500 $500,000
Thu 21 Nov 12:30 Event 4: NLH Classic Day 1C $500 $500,000
Fri 22 Nov 12:30 Event 4: NLH Classic Day 1D $500 $500,000
Sat 23 Nov 12:30 Event 4: NLH Classic Day 2 $500,000
Sun 24 Nov 12:30 Event 5: NLH 6-Max Day 1 $1,100 $250,000
Sun 24 Nov 17:15 Event 4: NLH Classic Final Day $500,000
Mon 25 Nov 12:30 Event 5: NLH 6-Max Final Day $250,000
Tue 26 Nov 12:30 Event 6: Masters 50+ Years Day 1 $500 $80,000
Wed 27 Nov 12:30 Event 6: Master 50+ Years Final Day $ $250,000
Wed 27 Nov 18:15 Event 7: Teams $550 $100,000
Thu 28 Nov 14:15 Event 8: $5K Challenge Day 1 $5,000 $1,000,000
Fri 29 Nov 14:15 Event 8: $5K Challenge Final Day $5,000 $1,000,000
Fri 29 Nov 18:15 Event 9: Ladies Event Day 1 $330 $20,000
Sat 30 Nov 12:30 Event 10: Main Event Day 1A $2,200 $2,200,000
Sat 30 Nov 17:15 Event 9: Ladies Event Final Day $20,000
Sun 1 Dec 12:30 Event 10: Main Event Day 1B $2,200 $2,200,000
Mon 2 Dec 14:15 Event 11: 6-Max PLO Day 1 $1,650 $240,000
Tue 3 Dec 14:15 Event 11: 6-Max PLO Day 2 $240,000
Wed 4 Dec 14:15 Event 12: High Rollers Day 1 $20,000 $1,000,000
Thu 5 Dec 12:30 Event 10: Main Event Day 1C $2,200 $2,200,000
Thu 5 Dec 14:15 Event 12: High Rollers Final Day $2,200,000
Fri 6 Dec 12:30 Event 10: Main Event Day 1D $2,200 $2,200,000
Sat 7 Dec 12:30 Event 10: Main Event Day 2 $2,200,000
Sat 7 Dec 18:15 Event 13: Omaha Day 1 $550 $100,000
Sun 8 Dec 12:30 Event 10: Main Event Day 3 $2,200,000
Sun 8 Dec 17:15 Event 13: Omaha Final Day $2,200,000
Mon 9 Dec 12:30 Event 10: Main Event Final Day $2,200,000
Mon 9 Dec 12:30 Event 14: Bounty $660 $150,000